May 20, 2010
Loggerhead Hatchling (Photo: USFWS)

Loggerhead Hatchling (NPS)

The waters of the Gulf of Mexico and Florida’s Atlantic coast are home to five species of sea turtles: green, hawksbill, leatherback, loggerhead and Kemp’s ridley. All are listed as endangered or threatened under the Endangered Species Act. The oil gushing from BP’s Deepwater Horizon oil rig poses several additional threats to the already precarious existence of these rare creatures. Read our factsheet and learn more about what the Gulf oil disaster could mean for sea turtles.

Wildlife & Wild Places

Follow Defenders of Wildlife